Press "Enter" to skip to content

African Court on Human and People’s Rights starts public hearing in Arusha Tanzania

THE African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (AfCHPR) has initiated public hearings on three applications lodged before the court.

In the first application, a Ghanaian Alfred Wayome is seeking redress from Ghana Government. He alleges to have provided engineering financial services to the respondent state, pursuant to an agreement for securing funds for the rehabilitation of the Accra and Kumasi Sports Stadia for the Confederation of the African Cup of Nations Tournament of 2008.

The Applicant alleges that, by not respecting the terms of the agreement, the respondent state violated the rights provided under the Charter. Mr Wayome alleges that the government wants to take over his properties after he refused to return some funds he was paid after he had won the tender.


In another matter, Mr Sebastian Ajavon alleges that Benin has violated his rights by withdrawing his customs license and disrupted his radio and television stations’ signals.

The applicant is also alleging that the proceedings instituted against him by the Public Prosecutor and the Benin Customs Services in the cocaine trafficking case was not fair. The third application is between Mr Armand Guehi and the United Republic of Tanzania.

Mr Guehi, an Ivorian national, who has been convicted and sentenced to death for murdering his wife, is challenging the conviction on the ground that it violated his right to a fair trial.

The African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Court) is a continental court established by African countries to ensure the protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa. It complements and reinforces the functions of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The Court was established by virtue of Article 1 of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, (the Protocol) which was adopted by Member States of the then Organization of African Unity (OAU) in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, in June 1998. The Protocol came into force on 25 January 2004.

As at February 2018, only eight (8) of the thirty (30) States Parties to the Protocol had made the declaration recognizing the competence of the Court to receive cases from NGOs and individuals. The eight (8) States are; Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mali, Malawi , Tanzania and Rep. of Tunisia. The 30 States which have ratified the Protocol are: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Lesotho, Mali, Malawi, Mozambique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Nigeria, Niger, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, South Africa, Senegal, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia and Uganda.